Join Club

2021 Arlington NAACP Award Recipients Announced

On October 28, from 7-9 p.m., the Arlington Branch NAACP will host its annual Freedom Fund Banquet, which will bring together the Arlington community for a virtual celebration centered on the theme “We Shall Not Be Moved.” All are welcome to attend. The virtual Freedom Fund Banquet also will feature remarks from branch leadership and other special guests.

During the event, the Arlington Branch NAACP will recognize several outstanding activists for their work in the Arlington community: the Willard W. Brittain Community Appreciation Award will be awarded to Macedonia Baptist Church and Lamont West, Chairman of the Trustee Ministry for the response to the COVID-19 crises; the Charles P. Monroe Civil Rights Award will be presented to Brad Haywood, the Chief Public Defender of Arlington for his steadfast support for justice; the Henry L. Holmes Meritorious Service Award will be bestowed upon Wilma Jones for the committed support to the community; and the inaugural Esther G. Cooper Civil Rights Activist of the Year Award will be presented to the 2020-21 Wakefield Warriors Varsity Football Team for their efforts to confront racial behaviors.

Submit your own Announcement here.


Subscribe to our mailing list