Press Club

Alexandria Symphony Presents Beethoven’s Fifth & Rhapsody

Michelle Cann (courtesy of Alexandria Symphony Orchestra)

Under the direction of Maestro James Ross, the Alexandria Symphony Orchestra (ASO) launches the 2021-2022 season on Saturday, Oct. 2 at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, Oct. 3 at 3 p.m.

ASO presents two giants from the symphonic repertoire: Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Described as a “compelling, sparkling virtuoso,” Michelle Cann will grace the ASO stage with Gershwin’s Rhapsody. The concert also features Copland’s inspired Fanfare for the Common Man and Umoja by Valerie Coleman, recently commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra. Ms. Cann appears by arrangement with the Curtis Institute of Music.

Alexandria Symphony Orchestra is committed to providing a safe concert environment. The concerts will be presented with no intermission. Audience members, musicians, staff and volunteers will be required to wear a mask during performances. ASO is also requiring all attendees, musicians, volunteers and staff be fully vaccinated.

Adult prices start at $20, $5 for youth and $15 for students. Military, senior and group discounts are also available. You can purchase tickets online.

Recent Stories

Tour the small tight-knit community of Dover Crystal in the latest Neighborhood Spotlight.

Learn more about the certificate and graduate programs at the Schar School during the Virtual Open House June 8.

Happy Memorial Day weekend, Arlington. We hope you’re able to get some rest and reflection in after this long week. Once we push past some rain this evening, it’s looking…

The Armed Forces Cycling Classic, a series of races around Clarendon and Crystal City, is set to take place the first weekend of June. The Cycling Classic will be held…


Subscribe to our mailing list